Assemblyman Ken Cooley Re-Appointed to the Alfred E. Alquist California Seismic Safety Commission

For immediate release:

Rancho Cordova- Assemblyman Ken Cooley was appointed by Speaker John A. Pérez to the California Seismic Commission.   The Speaker is allotted one appointment to the Commission which is composed of 20 commissioners.  The body investigates earthquakes, tsunamis and volcanoes; researches earthquake-related issues and reports; and recommends to the Governor and Legislature policies and programs needed to reduce earthquake risk.  Mr. Cooley was previously appointed by Governor Schwarzenegger in April of 2007 to represent California’s Cities on the Commission.

“I believe the design of the Seismic Safety Commission -- a unique multidisciplinary body which fosters peer-to-peer collaboration among our state and nation’s top emergency, engineering, and seismic specialists --  can be relied upon to formulate and refine practical insights which can reduce loss of life and property damage when a catastrophic earthquake strikes,” said Assemblyman Cooley.

His re-appointment brings the Commission a unique storehouse of knowledge on disaster resilience and earthquake safety public policy.  As a University of California, Berkeley student in the 1970s, Mr. Cooley interned at the Association of Bay Area Governments as it surveyed members on disaster readiness following the San Fernando Valley “Sylmar” earthquake of 1971. When the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake hit, Mr. Cooley’s work as Assembly Finance and Insurance Chief Counsel included collaboration on legislative responses to that destructive earthquake. Additionally, he gained expertise on resilience issues while serving on the League of California Cities Flood and Infrastructure working group which addressed issues of disaster resilience especially vital to Sacramento County.

“The Seismic Safety Commission is honored to have Assembly Member Cooley as its newest commissioner.  His long experience in developing and implementing earthquake risk reduction and recovery policy will greatly help reduce the earthquake risk to the people and property of California”, said Richard McCarthy, Executive Director, Alfred E. Alquist Seismic Safety Commission.

“I sought re-appointment to the Seismic Safety Commission to further, on behalf of California’s cities, Senator Alfred Alquist’s vision of a California which uses its time well to steadily improve its state of readiness to weather the earthquakes we know are a part of living in earthquake country,” said Cooley. 

The Seismic Safety Commission was established by the 1975 Seismic Safety Act to advise the Governor, Legislature, and state and local governments on ways to reduce earthquake risk.  The name was revised in 2006 by Senate Bill 1278 which changed the name to the Alfred E. Alquist Seismic Safety Commission. 

Assemblyman Ken Cooley represents the 8th Assembly District which includes the communities of Arden-Arcade, Carmichael, Citrus Heights, Rancho Cordova, Rancho Murieta, Rosemont, Wilton and other portions of unincorporated Sacramento County.   For more information, please visit

CONTACT: Jillena Hernandez, (916) 281-4832