Teen drivers will soon see new driving restrictions along with earlier curfew times

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. - California lawmakers moved to make newly licensed 18 and 19-year-olds follow rules that already apply to younger drivers.

Some teens wait to get their license until they are 18 and skip drivers education courses but, Assembly Bill 724 would change that and require new 18 and 19-year-old drivers to complete a 30-hour driver education course and six hours of professional driver training. 

Tighter rules sought for teen drivers

Tighter restrictions could be coming to California's newly licensed 18- and 19-year-old drivers pending a bill making headway in the Legislature.

Assembly Bill 724, authored by Assemblyman Ken Cooley, D-Rancho Cordova, seeks to provide similar regulations required of drivers under the age of 18.

Assemblyman Ken Cooley Assists Small Business

AB 393 makes California more business-friendly

Rancho Cordova- Assemblyman Ken Cooley’s AB 393, a bill focused on helping small businesses, received bi-partisan approval today from the Assembly Governmental Organization Committee. AB 393 requires the “GO-Biz” website to house information on the fees state agencies charge businesses and when they are due throughout the year so that start-ups, as well as small businesses, can budget accordingly throughout the year for the expenses.

“Small businesses are integral to maintaining California’s diverse and vibrant economy,” said Cooley. “Government can act as a facilitator to bring key information to business owners to give them an edge in today’s lean economy.  One way to do this is to provide access to a user-friendly website, where they can easily locate their business fee requirements and fee schedules.”

Eggman targets parole violators

SACRAMENTO - California lawmakers in the Assembly Safety Committee are considering a bill today that would send high-risk parolees back to state prisons instead of overcrowded county jails when they violate parole.

Assemblywoman Susan Eggman, D-Stockton, co-authored the proposed amendment to the realignment law, that would give judges the discretion to return parole violators to prison for up to one year, rather than the current 180-day maximum jail stay.

More limits proposed for teen drivers

California lawmakers moved Monday to further restrict teenage drivers, including approval of one measure to require that newly licensed 18- and 19-year-olds follow rules that now apply to younger motorists.

Two bills approved by the Assembly Transportation Committee piggyback on current restrictions on drivers under 18, such as requiring a driver's education course, 50 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel training and a year-long provisional stage in which they cannot drive with passengers under 20 or be on the road after 11 p.m.